Slide 1

Presenting the Best in Music and Dance from Around the World

Slide 3
WMI PLUS At Home

Visit our library of past at home artist conversations.

Slide 2
Join Our Newsletter

Get the latest on streaming events, WMI Plus At Home Experiences, playlists, recipes and more!

previous arrow
next arrow

Welcome to World Music Institute

Founded in 1985 as a not-for-profit, World Music Institute (WMI) has served as one of the leading presenters of world music and dance within the United States. WMI is committed to presenting the best in traditional and contemporary music and dance from around the world to enrich lives through the arts, promote awareness and appreciation of the world’s rich cultural traditions, and encourage cross-cultural dialog and exchange. WMI presents virtually and at venues throughout the city of New York and depends on public and private funding to accomplish its mission.

For Group, Student, and Senior discounts, please contact us at 212-545-7536 Ext. 1 or at info@worldmusicinstitute.org.

Upcoming Events

WMI Plus At Home (online)

McIntosh County Shoouters 

Mon, Feb 13 – 6 PM EST

Ladysmith Black Mambazo

92NY

Sat, Mar 19 – 7:30 PM

Bembona x Afrodominicano

Nublu

Sat, Feb 25 – 9 PM

Hamid Rahmanian’s ‘Song of the North’

Peter Norton Symphony Space

Fri – Sun, Mar 24-26

Red Baraat ‘Festival of Colors’

Brooklyn Bowl

Fri, Mar 10 – 8 PM

Tarta Relena

National Sawdust

Thu, Mar 30 – 8 PM

NY Arab Festival

Nublu

Fri, Apr 7 – 8 PM

DTG – Sreelakshmy Govardhanan

The Ailey Studios

Fri, Apr 14 – 8 PM

DTG – Praveen Kumar

The Ailey Studios

Sat, Apr 15 – 8 PM

Dakh Daughters w/ Balaklava Blues

LPR

Thu, Apr 20 – 8 PM

KOKOKO!

Public Records

Sat, Apr 22 – 8 PM

Fatoumata Diawara

Brooklyn Bowl

Sat, Apr 29 – 8 PM

ADG7

LPR

Wed, May 3 – 8 PM

Vieux Farka Touré

Brooklyn Bowl

Thu, May 11 – 8 PM

Alam and Manik Khan | Swapan Chaudhuri

Kaufman Music Center

Sat, May 20 – 8 PM

Hermeto Pascoal & Grupo

Pioneer Works

Thu, May 25 – 8 PM

Kiran Ahluwalia w/ Yacouba Sissoko

Flushing Town Hall

Sat, Jun 3 – 8 PM

Yasser Tejeda x DJ Sabine Blaizin

Harlem Stage

Thu, Jun 8 – 8 PM