Slide 1

Presenting the Best in Music and Dance from Around the World

Slide 3
WMI PLUS At Home

Visit our library of past at home artist conversations.

Slide 2
Join Our Newsletter

Get the latest on streaming events, WMI Plus At Home Experiences, playlists, recipes and more!

previous arrow
next arrow

Welcome to World Music Institute

Founded in 1985 as a not-for-profit, World Music Institute (WMI) has served as one of the leading presenters of world music and dance within the United States. WMI is committed to presenting the best in traditional and contemporary music and dance from around the world to enrich lives through the arts, promote awareness and appreciation of the world’s rich cultural traditions, and encourage cross-cultural dialog and exchange. WMI presents virtually and at venues throughout the city of New York and depends on public and private funding to accomplish its mission.

For Group, Student, and Senior discounts, please contact us at 212-545-7536 Ext. 1 or at info@worldmusicinstitute.org.

Upcoming Events

Manchester Collective w/ Abel Selaocoe 

Kaufman Music Center

Fri, Oct 7 – 8 PM

 Hailu Mergia | Awesome Tapes 

Elsewhere

Sun, Oct 9 – 7 PM

Forró in the Dark | Gaspar Muniz

Nublu

Thu, Oct 13 – 8 PM

Free Event! WMI PLUS At Home 

Oumou Sangaré

Mon, Oct 17 – 6 PM

Argentine Guitar w/ Carlos Pavan

Clara Aich Studio

Tue, Oct 18 – 6:30 PM

Purbayan Chatterjee and Guests

Kaufman Music Center

Sun, Oct 23 – 8 PM

Oumou Sangaré

The Apollo Theater

Sat, Oct 29 – 8 PM

Underground System | Locobeach

Nublu

Thu, Nov 10 – 8 PM

Habib Koité

City Winery

Sun, Nov 13 – 8 PM

Zakir Hussain w/ Niladri Kumar

Skirball Center 

Fri, Nov 18 – 8 PM

Pierre Kwenders | Uproot Andy

Nublu

Thu, Dec 8 – 8 PM

Samir LanGus | Omar Aena

Nublu

Thu, Jan 26 – 8 PM

Songs for Babyn Yar

92NY

Sat, Jan 28 – 7:30 PM

Bembona | Afrodominicano | Parcha

Nublu

Sat, Feb 25 – 8 PM

Red Baraat ‘Festival of Colors’

Brooklyn Bowl

Fri, Mar 10 – 8 PM

Ladysmith Black Mambazo

92NY

Sat, Mar 18 – 7:30 PM

Hamid Rhamanian’s Song of the North

Peter Norton Symphony Space

Fri – Sun, March 24-26

Tarta Relena

National Sawdust

Thu, Mar 30 – 8 PM